DIY flashlight

Light up with the most simple torch in the world!

With this super simple flashlight you can not only take a closer look at things in our exhibition, but also illuminate your play worlds, explore the dark corners in the basement or examine someone’s throat like a doctor. You need:

  • wooden stick (or made of cardboard)
  • self-adhesive copper tape (or aluminium foil)
  • adhesive tape
  • LED
  • button cell battery 3V (CR 2032)
  • metal clamp
  • scissors
  • pen

How to build:

These instructions are also available as worksheet: Download Worksheet The trick with the electric circuit The circuit of this torch is closed by the metal clip. So the current flows from the positive side of the battery via the upper copper strip to the LED. With the long leg of the LED, the current flows in, makes it glow and then passes over the short leg to the copper strip on the back of the stick. From there it flows through the metal clip back to the negative side into the battery. This only works if the clamp is made of metal. Sometimes there are difficulties with colorful painted staples – then simply fold down the legs of the staples onto the copper strips. You can buy things here:

  • LED and copper tapes: www.boxtec.ch
  • Clamps are sold in shops for office supplies
  • Batteries are available at retailers, like Migros and Coop

  Comments The cover picture shows the DIY torch in front of the work “Polarizing Times” by Alan Bogana, which was shown in the exhibition “Swiss Media Art: knowbotiq, Alan Bogana, Félicien Goguey – Pax Art Awards 2019“. This manual was created as part of the Family Day workshop for this exhibition.

DIY-Taschenlampe

Licht an mit der allereinfachsten Taschenlampe der Welt!

Mit dieser super einfachen Taschenlampe kannst du die Dinge nicht nur in unserer Ausstellung genauer unter die Lupe nehmen, sondern auch deine Spielwelten beleuchten, im Keller die dunklen Ecken erkunden oder wie bei der Ärztin jemandem tief in den Rachen schauen.

Du brauchst:

  • Stäbchen aus Holz (oder aus Karton selber zuschneiden)
  • selbstklebendes Kupferband (oder Streifen aus Alufolie)
  • Klebeband
  • LED
  • Knopfbatterie 3V (CR 2032)
  • Klammer aus Metall
  • Schere
  • Stift

So gehts:

Die Anleitung gibt es auch als Worksheet:

Der Trick mit dem Stromkreis

Der Stromkreis dieser Taschenlampe wird durch die Metall-Klammer geschlossen. Der Strom fliesst also von der Plus-Seite der Batterie über den oberen Kupferstreifen zur LED. Beim langen Bein der LED fliesst der Strom rein, bringt sie zum Leuchten und geht dann über das kurze Bein auf den Kupferstreifen auf der Rückseite des Stäbchens über. Von dort fliesst er durch durch die Metallklammer zurück auf die Minus-Seite in die Batterie. Das funktioniert nur, wenn die Klammer aus Metall ist. Manchmal gibt es Schwierigkeiten mit bunt lackierten Klammern – dann einfach die Beinchen der Klammern auf die Kufperstreifen herunterklappen.

Hier kannst du die Sachen kaufen:

  • LED und Kupferband: www.boxtec.ch
  • Klammern bekommst du in der Papeterie
  • Batterien gibts im Detailhandel, z.B. Migros oder Coop

Anmerkungen: Das Titelbild zeigt die DIY-Taschenlampe vor dem Werk „Polarizing Times“ von Alan Bogana, das in der Ausstellung “Schweizer Medienkunst: knowbotiq, Alan Bogana, Félicien Goguey – Pax Art Awards 2019” zu sehen war. Diese Anleitung ist als Teil des Familientag-Workshops zu dieser Ausstellung entstanden.